I don’t know about you, but I H.A.T.E. shopping for our daughter.

Yes.  In general.

Clothes?  Ridiculous.

Toys?  I want to throw something.

This past Christmas, I wandered up and down the toy aisles trying to find the perfect Christmas gift for her.  I looked at the dolls–my favorite as a child.  (I have a pretty impressive collection of Cabbage Patch Dolls just waiting for E…)

All dolls DO something these days.  They cry.  (Creepy.)

Or laugh.  (Creepier.)

Or have bodily functions.  (I don’t even know where to START.)

Dejected, I went with an Aquadoodle for her–which turned out to be a big hit, and I didn’t have to clean anything up.  BONUS.

Imagine my surprise when my parents bought E a doll for Christmas, and the doll was…AWESOME!

Seriously.  It was JUST a doll.  She was a plush doll who wore normal clothes, had a normal face, and she didn’t make noises, try to walk, or pee.

I wanted to hug her.

But I let E do it for me.

Image

“Emmy”–what E calls her–is E’s most favorite toy in the entire world.  Emmy has to go to sleep with her, nap with her, be covered up just like E, get hugs and kisses–it’s pretty neat to watch how attached she is to the little doll.

My mom told me that she found the doll at the Cracker Barrel restaraunt.  They are part of the “Butterflies Doll Collection.”

Price?  $20.00.

I nearly fell out of my chair.  You can’t find a decent doll for that great of a price.  The ones that are programmed to vomit all over you cost way more than $20.00, and I find that incredibly annoying.

And the Cracker Barrel restaurant has doll accessories, outfits, etc.  The dolls are soft, and they are THE perfect size for little girls.

I just want to hug whoever had the idea for these dolls and thank the for making something so…simple.  So innocent.  So reminiscent of my childhood.

Not everything has to have bells or whistles or–for whatever reason–bodily functions.  They don’t have to make noise or walk or throw something at you.

Less is more.  Especially with the Butterfly Collection dolls.

Check it out:  Holly is already dressed in her prettiest dress for Christmas.  And she’s on sale for only $10.00.  Nothing like getting a little shopping done early, eh?

I hope you and yours are having a fruitful and blessed Lent.  How many more days to go??

